NOMEC Council and Member Agencies

The NOMEC Council

The National Ocean Mapping, Exploration, and Characterization Council was formed in June 2020 to coordinate agency policy and actions needed to advance ocean mapping, exploration, and characterization, and to support collaboration with non-governmental partners and stakeholders as well as government-to-government collaborations with Tribal Nations. The Council works to develop and implement multi-disciplinary, collaborative, and coordinated approaches to mapping, exploring, and characterizing the United States EEZ. The Council reports to the Ocean Science and Technology Subcommittee, which provides support and guidance for the Council’s work as appropriate. The Ocean Policy Committee also provides strategic direction and facilitates interagency resolution of policy issues as appropriate. 

The NOMEC Council oversees activities of two interagency working groups (IWGs):

Member Agencies

The NOMEC Council includes members from 11 Federal Agencies and Departments and is led by three Co-Chairs: two from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and one from the United States Geological Survey (USGS). An Executive Director and three Executive Secretaries support the NOMEC Council and the activities of its two subsidiary bodies, the Interagency Working Group on Ocean and Coastal Mapping and the Interagency Working Group on Ocean Exploration and Characterization. 

Members of the Council include:

  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (co-chair)
  • United State Geological Survey (co-chair)
  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • United States Coast Guard
  • National Science Foundation
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Department of Defense
  • Office of the Director of National Intelligence
  • Department of Transportation
  • White House Office of Management and Budget
  • White House Office of Science and Technology Policy