The Ocean Research Advisory Panel (ORAP) advises the Ocean Policy Committee (OPC) and provides independent recommendations to the Federal Government on matters of ocean policy. Membership consists of individuals who represent the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine; individuals who represent the views of ocean industries, state, tribal, territorial or local governments, and academia, and such other views as the co-chairs of OPC consider appropriate; and individuals eminent in the fields of marine science, marine technology, and marine policy, or related fields. The ORAP membership reflects a balance of academic, scientific, and geographic interests.


Congress directed the establishment of the ORAP in Section 1055(c) of the William M. (Mac) Thornberry National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2021 (Pub. L. 116-283), 10 U.S.C. 8933

ORAP’s responsibilities are (1) to advise the OPC on policies and procedures to implement the National Oceanographic Partnership Program; (2) to advise the OPC on matters relating to national oceanographic science, engineering, facilities, or resource requirements; (3) to advise the OPC on improving diversity, equity, and inclusion in the ocean sciences and related fields; (4) to advise the OPC on national ocean research priorities; and (5) any additional responsibilities that the OPC considers appropriate.


  • Claudia Benitez-Nelson, National Academies’ Ocean Studies Board; University of South Carolina 

  • Derek Brockbank, Coastal States Organization
  • Jorge Corredor, University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez (retired)
  • Danielle Dickson, North Pacific Research Board
  • Tim Gallaudet, Ocean STL Consulting, LLC
  • Mary Glackin, National Academies’ Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate
  • Eunah Hoh, San Diego State University
  • Sandra Knight, Marine Board of the National Academies’ Transportation Research Board; WaterWonks LLC
  • Tommy Moore, Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
  • Christopher Ostrander, Marine Technology Society 
  • Claire B. Paris-Limouzy, Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric & Earth Science, University of Miami
  • Purnima Ratilal-Makris, Northeastern University
  • Edward Saade, Circum-Pacific Council; EJS Solutions
  • Ana Spalding, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute; Oregon State University
  • Amy Trice, Northeast Regional Ocean Council
  • Maria Tzortziou, The City College of New York, City University of New York
  • Violet Sage Walker, Northern Chumash Tribal Council
  • Kawika Winter, Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, University of Hawai'i 

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Team

  • Viviane Silva, NOAA Research, Office of Science Support
  • Joe Fillingham, NOAA Research, Office of Science Support

The ORAP carries out its activities subject to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq., which sets forth standards for the formation and use of advisory committees. Sections 10(e) and (f) of the FACA, 5 U.S.C. §§ 1009(e) and (f), direct the head of the agency responsible for an advisory committee to designate an officer or employee of the Federal Government to ensure committee compliance with FACA, and any other applicable laws and regulations. 

The Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Team supports the day-to-day operations of the ORAP.