U.S. Commerce Department announces appointments to regional fishery management councils for 2017

June 28, 2017
Deck of a fishing vessel.

The U.S. Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 22 new and returning members to the eight regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA Fisheries to manage ocean fish stocks. The new and reappointed council members begin their three-year terms on August 12.

The Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act established the councils to prepare fishery management plans for their regions. NOAA Fisheries works closely with the councils through this process and then reviews, approves and implements the plans. Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental organizations and academia. They are vital to fulfilling the act’s requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks and manage them sustainably.

Each year, the Secretary of Commerce appoints approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. The Secretary selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments.

Council members are appointed to both obligatory (state-specific) and at-large (regional) seats. Council members serve a three-year term and can be reappointed to serve three consecutive terms. Asterisks preceding a member’s name indicate a reappointment.


New England Council
The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. 2017 appointees will fill four at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  • *Peter Kendall (New Hampshire)
  • *Elizabeth Etrie (Massachusetts)
  • *John Pappalardo (Massachusetts)
  • Ernest F. Stockwell (Maine)


Mid-Atlantic Council
The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. 2017 appointees will fill obligatory seats for Maryland, North Carolina, New York, Pennsylvania and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

  • Earl Gwin (Maryland)
  • *Francis Hemilright (North Carolina)
  • Steven Heins (New York)
  • *G. Warren Elliott (Pennsylvania)

At-large seat:

  • *Laurie A. Nolan (New York)


South Atlantic Council
The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. 2017 appointees will fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  • *William Brewer (Florida)
  • *Mark Brown (South Carolina)


Caribbean Council
The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.

Obligatory seat:

  • *Marcos R. Hanke (Puerto Rico)


Gulf Council
The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. 2017 appointees will fill three at-large seats.

At-large seats:

  • Phillip Dyskow (Florida)
  • Robert Shipp (Alabama)
  • *Gregory Stunz (Texas)


Pacific Council
The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The Pacific Council also includes one Tribal seat. 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for Washington and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

  • *Richard Lincoln (Washington)

At-large seat:

  • Bradley Pettinger (Oregon)


North Pacific Council
The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. 2017 appointees will fill obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:

  • *Simon Kinneen (Alaska)
  • *Kenneth Down (Washington)


Western Pacific Council
The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI). 2017 appointees will fill an obligatory seat for CNMI and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

  • *John Gourley (CNMI)

At-large seats:

  • Eo E. Mokoma (American Samoa)
  • *Edwin A. Ebisui (Hawaii)


Find out more about the Regional Fishery Management Councils here.

Media Contact:

Jennie Lyons, 301-427-8013