Content

News briefings set for JPSS-1, America’s newest weather satellite

UPDATED: November 8, 2017. Note: Dates for news conferences and launch have been updated.
November 1, 2017 Top officials from NOAA and NASA will discuss next week’s launch of the Joint Polar Satellite System, JPSS-1, the first in a series of four highly advanced NOAA polar-orbiting satellites, designed to improve the accuracy of weather forecasts out to seven days.
JPSS-1, the first in a series of NOAA's four next-generation polar-orbiting weather satellites, is scheduled to launch November 10 from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.

JPSS-1 is scheduled to launch on Nov. 14 at 1:47 a.m. PST (4:47 a.m. EST) from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California.

JPSS will bring the latest and best technology NOAA has ever flown in a polar orbit to capture more precise observations of the atmosphere, land and waters. JPSS-1, which will be known as NOAA-20 when it reaches orbit, will join Suomi NPP, the joint NOAA-NASA weather satellite, giving the U.S. the benefit of two, sophisticated polar satellites in the same orbit. Each will circle the globe 14 times a day, 50 minutes apart and provide full, global observations for U.S. weather prediction. Forecasters will use the data to better predict weather events and hazards, such as a hurricane’s track, and when a hurricane will intensify or weaken, identify power outages and locate and evaluate damage after a storm.

Media can post questions during the briefings via Twitter, using the hashtag #askNASA.

Pre-launch News Briefings

On Nov. 12, NASA-TV will have live coverage of two pre-launch news briefings for JPSS-1 held at Vandenberg AFB:

Mission Overview Briefing – 1 p.m. PST (4 p.m. EST)

  • Steve Volz, director, NOAA’s Satellite and Information Service
  • Greg Mandt, director, Joint Polar Satellite System
  • Sandra Smalley, director, Joint Agency Satellite Division, NASA Headquarters
  • Omar Baez, NASA launch manager
  • Scott Messer, program manager, United Launch Alliance
  • Capt. Ross Malugani, launch weather officer, Vandenberg Air Force Base 30th Space Wing

Science/User Briefing – 2:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. EST)

  • Mitch Goldberg, chief program scientist, NOAA, JPSS
  • Joe Pica, director, Office of Observations, NOAA’s National Weather Service
  • James Gleason, senior project scientist, NASA Goddard, JPSS
  • Jana Luis, division chief, predictive services, CAL FIRE, Sacramento Headquarters
For additional opportunities for media to participate or view the the launch, see the NASA advisory.
 

Prelaunch and launch day coverage of the JPSS-1 flight will be available on http://www.nasa.gov. Coverage will include live streaming and blog updates beginning at 1:15 a.m. PST (4:15 a.m. EST) on Nov. 14 as the countdown milestones occur. You can follow countdown coverage on NASA's launch blog.

To learn more about the JPSS-1 mission, visit:

https://www.jpss.noaa.gov and https://www.nesdis.noaa.gov/jpss-1

Join the conversation and follow the JPSS-1 mission on Twitter and Facebook.

Contact
John Leslie, 202-527-3504 (cell)