OLIA Staff Directory

Main Office Telephone: 202-482-4981

For general inquiries, please contact OLIA's Director and Deputy Director. 

For inquires related to Tribal Relations or one of NOAA's Line Offices, see
below for contact information and portfolio summaries. 

Leadership

Tanya Dobrzynski
Director (Acting), and Deputy Director
Tanya.Dobrzynski@noaa.gov

Chris Hayes
Deputy Director (Acting)
Chris.Hayes@noaa.gov

Intergovernmental Affairs & Tribal Relations

Linda Belton
Senior Policy Advisor & NOAA Tribal Liaison
Tel: 202-482-5447
Linda.Belton@noaa.gov

  • Tribal Relations - consultations, communication, and outreach.
  • Intergovernmental Affairs - state, county, tribal, and community-level outreach.

Marine and Aviation Operations

Becky Cruz Lizama
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-0809
Becky.Lizama@noaa.gov

  • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO) – including fleet modernization, aircraft services, uncrewed systems, and the NOAA Commissioned Officer Corps.

Atmospheric Team

Matthew Borgia
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-4981
Matthew.Borgia@noaa.gov

  • National Weather Service (NWS) – all weather-related issues, including: hurricanes & tropical storms; tornadoes & severe storms; winter storms; fire weather; space weather; tsunamis; and forecasts, warnings, alerts, and outlooks.

Kenneth Erickson
Knauss Sea Grant Fellow
Tel: (202) 577-5692
Kenneth.Erickson@noaa.gov

  • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS) – satellite issues and data, including GOES, POES and the Joint Polar Satellite System (JPSS).

Mackenzie Solomon
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-2497
mackenzie.solomon@noaa.gov

  • Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR) – including climate science, ocean exploration and research, ocean acidification, air quality research, invasive species, and drought research, including NIDIS.

Fisheries Team

Katherine (Katie) Dziedzic
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-7937
Katherine.Dziedzic@noaa.gov

  • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – West Coast and Pacific Islands Regions. Protected Species and International fisheries.

Christopher (Topher) Holmes
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-2272
Christopher.Holmes@noaa.gov

  • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – South Atlantic, Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean, and Alaska Regions. Aquaculture; Sustainable Fisheries; and Enforcement.

Erin Schnettler
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-7937
Erin.Schnettler@noaa.gov

  • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, and Great Lakes Regions. Habitat and Science & Technology.

Alexis Gutierrez 
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-3622
Alexis.Gutierrez@noaa.gov 

  • AWAY ON EXTENDED DETAIL

Oceans Team

Melanie Jackson
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-5111
Melanie.Jackson@noaa.gov

  • National Ocean Service (NOS) -  including National Marine Sanctuaries, National Estuarine Research Reserve System (NERRS), Digital Coast, coastal zone management, coral reef conservation, coastal and estuarine land conservation, and marine protected areas. 

Michael Jarvis
Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-3595
Michael.Jarvis@noaa.gov

  • National Ocean Service (NOS) – including mapping and charting, geodesy, oil spill response, natural resource damage assessment and restoration, marine debris, harmful algal blooms, hypoxia, operational oceanographic products and services, and integrated ocean observing system. 

Legislative Team

Velna L. Bullock
Legislative Affairs Analyst
Tel: 202-482-5833
Velna.L.Bullock@noaa.gov

  • Congressional Events Report, mandated Congressional Reports, Legislative Referral Memorandums (LRMs), NOAA's Membership Outreach Database (MOD), NOAA grants, Records Liaison Officer, and special legislative projects.

Chris Hayes
Legislative Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-1284
Chris.Hayes@noaa.gov

  • Congressional testimony, Questions for the Record (QFRs), hearing transcripts, Legislative Referral Memorandums (LRMs), presidential proclamations, views letters, and enrolled bill letters.

Fellows and Scholars

Kenneth Erickson
Knauss Sea Grant Fellow
Tel: (202) 577-5692
Kenneth.Erickson@noaa.gov

  • Office of Education, NOAA in the Caribbean, Arctic, and Regional Collaboration Network.

Administrative Team

Jenell Wildgoose
Administrative Support Assistant
Tel: 202-482-4981
Jenell.C.Wildgoose@noaa.gov

  • Executive correspondence, procurement, and administrative support for Legislative Affairs.